Talk:GPS device reviews

From OpenStreetMap Wiki
(Redirected from Talk:GPS Reviews)
Jump to: navigation, search

Owhite 20:09, 11 Jan 2006 (GMT) said:

Owhite 20:09, 11 Jan 2006 (GMT) said:

"memory 5% full" when I had about 500 points in the tracklog, so they might have increased the memory in it.

(500 / 5%) * 100% = 10000 - which is what the manual says.

Sounds about right.

On a larger point, shall we remove SteveC's comment on the data being lost on battery removal - it looks like it was a one-off.

Don't mind. Does Garmin mention that it's flash (or "non-volatile" etc.) memory in the manual?
Interesting... While I did that "remove battery and check that the tracks were stored" test that prompted this discussion, my Geko 201 has just lost about a days' worth of data in what looks like an AFU [major error] kind of way
Background info: one morning I turned on the GPS to see that no tracklogs were showing on the display, although waypoints were still stored. GPS said that tracklog memory was 95% full (so unlikely to have been an accidental "clear memory"). Subsequent tracklogs recorded OK and downloaded OK. When the tracklog was downloaded, that missing day of data wasn't visible on the computer.
I'm wondering if it's to do with the GPS batteries running out while the tracklog is being transferred to a laptop, although it's not obvious why that would cause such problems.
Ojw 20:41, 13 Jun 2006 (UTC) (p.s. this is why the peak district looks so sparse even after I visited it...)

Has anybody noticed any difference in tracklog accuracy (and thus usefulness for OSM) between different firmware versions in Garmin units? I noticed that my Garmin Foretrex 201 runs version 2.10 (which seems to work fine) and there is a version 2.40 to download at garmin.com.



upload pictures of gps units? added my (I say my..) geko 201. User: Steve

Nokia N and E series

Does they really have a SIRF chipset?

What sources supports this theory?

A only find variuos forum posts claiming that at least the E90 have a chipset called TI NaviLink 4.0 GPS5300.

(I dont think my E90 is as good as other SIRF-based receivers either. That could perhaps be another clue.)

--Henriko 16:05, 3 June 2008 (UTC)

At least the chipset in the E71 is not Sirf, but a bunch of shit.

NaviGPS

Can anyone comment on the suitability of the NaviGPS (in UK £54.99 from Storage Depot direct or via Amazon.co.uk).

Storage Depot sent me some files it will export:

  • OziExplorer Route File Version 2.1 (.RTE file)
  • OziExplorer Waypoint File Version 1.0 (.WPT file)
  • Unknown (.NMTE file)
  • OziExplorer Track Point File Version 2.1 (.PLT file)

Please reply to reynoldsp@lineone.net as well as here as I may forget to check back here.

--PeterR 20:35, 23 Feb 2006 (UTC)

Peter, I have just added a review of one I got a couple of days ago. 80n 22:33, 25 Feb 2006 (UTC)


Today I updated some of the info about the NaviGPS. Wasn't sure if the Manual Addenda should go on the page or here but I put them on the page so at least lots of people can see them. I've only had my NaviGPS (well actually it's the GT-11 version) two days and I'm very pleased with it. Perhaps it has a bit of difficulty getting a fix in town sometimes. I find GPS TrackMaker to be a very good free bit of software for creating routes and waypoints to upload to the unit. Abarnes 21:17, 13 September 2006 (BST)

I have the latest version of the firmware (V1.4 B0812) which is not yet on the Scytex website. Send me your email address if you would like me to forward you a copy. Abarnes 10:48, 20 September 2006 (BST)

Garmin GPS 60

User:arbitrary: Regarding the "Bad Things": It's possible to directly edit the coordinates while entering a new waypoint (using the MARK button). That's how I usually do it. Still a bit complicated because there's no way to enter numbers directly, so you have to use the virtual keyboard.

I recommend g7towin for uploading/downloading waypoints and tracks, it's free and supports the Garmin USB protocol.

Quick reference table?

As someone who is looking to buy their first GPS I think the review page could do with a table that summarises the important details of each unit, e.g. number of trackpoints, battery life, chipset, connectivity options. Obviously the table would have links to the reviews. Steevc 23:51, 14 September 2006 (BST)

GPS user categories

Is there any value in people including a category in their user profile to indicate what GPS they have, e.g. Acer n35 User in my case. Steevc 14:29, 12 October 2006 (BST)

Sure there is. Some Categories already exist. See Category:Users by GPS Device --Lulu-Ann 11:16, 29 July 2008 (UTC)

Bluetooth

Bluetooth is spelled "Bluetooth" and not "BlueTooth". Please correct that on the article page. I seemed to lack the rights to edit that section.

done -- Johndrinkwater 22:26, 26 November 2006 (UTC)

PocketLoox N100

Is this any good for mapping. Only £130 on ebuyer, but seems to be out of stock for now. I don't know if it can run any GPS logging software.

Pictures copyrighted?

A few pictures of RoyalTek units recently appeared on this page which look like they're lifted from marketing pics - just search google images for the model names. If so they should be removed.

Connectivity Icon

Very, very extremely nice feature. Although I do think personally, the current icon set are little huge. Could one reduce the size? And are any of these icons copyrighted?

I am sort of thinking there should be icons for SD Cards and MMC as well, for easier recognition.

Khensthoth 19:05, 3 November 2007 (UTC)

Pictures are nice, but text offered search & highlight in modern browsers. Not sure what's suppose to be the difference between Wlan and Wifi icon. --Stefanb 19:20, 3 November 2007 (UTC)

Personally I think WiFi is a subset of WLAN, though I don't have any in depth knowledge about that. As such, WLAN shouldn't really be there.

Using icons also slightly disrupted the sorting capability for the Connectivity column. Is there any way to type text in there, but with some clever Wiki script or something display icons instead? For example, 4x~ = Signature, that sort of stuff. --Khensthoth 06:45, 4 November 2007 (UTC)


GPS terms explained

Since GPS redirects to GPS units, my question is: where's an explanation of all those GPS terms?

(in alphabetical order - please add any you want)

How about an explanation of the various GPS chipsets, as e.g. in [1]

  • Antaris (16 channels)
  • Evermore (12 channels)
  • Nemerix (16 channels)
  • RFMD (32 channels)
  • SiRF II (8 channels)
  • SiRF II Xtrack (12 channels)
  • SiRF III (20 channels)
  • Sony SOC (12 channels)
  • U-Nav (12 channels)
  • SkyTraq Venus 5 (44 channels)

Traut 17:37, 16 January 2008 (UTC)

Waypoints

Worthwhile adding if the GPS can record waypoints (button push to save a node), all the Garmin's do. Firefishy 10:22, 23 January 2008 (UTC)

Confusing

As a new user looking to buy a GPS device, I found this page was not really that great for a quick reference. There are devices which are discontinued, which I presume I don't need to consider buying - so could these be removed? I don't understand the top section about GPS chipsets and DGPS correction, so should these be explained or omitted? Also there are some devices which have different model numbers and the only difference seems to be memory capacity - could these be combined to make it easier to read? Basically there's too much choice. Would a top 10 recommendations be a good idea for newbies such as myself? Apologies if I sound like I'm a dumb newbie, but that's why I came to this page after all! :-) Thanks.Nevov 20:24, 4 March 2008 (UTC)

I wouldn't remove discontinued GPSrs, but instead mark them as such, since you can still buy them second-hand. Or maybe they are not even discontinued yet in some countries - who knows. If you can help for some models, that would certainly be appreciated. As to your other question - you certainly have a prince range and a use case, don't you? Do you need a (color) map display, or just some receiver with Bluetooth for your phone? Do you want a data logger which can record tracks standalone? If you decided that, only a few models are left. Ignore chipset and DGPS for now. Once you need to decide between two models, you can then google for that information and base the final decision on that. HTH. --Colin Marquardt 00:13, 5 March 2008 (UTC)
I've seen stores selling brand new discontinued models on Google shopping, specifically the original Garmin eTrex. Jecowa 01:09, 12 March 2008 (UTC)
I agree this page is far to confusing, would it not make sense to link to each review from the table instead of using the bulleted list below the table? Mex
Yep. We should probably move to having separate wiki pages for all the devices, and just a table with links on this page. (similar approach as with the Software pages) That would at least reduce the size of the page -- Harry Wood 13:25, 7 December 2010 (UTC)
I moved all Transystem devices to a seperate page Transystem and added links in the table. Is this ok and should I continue with other devices? -- AndiPersti
For sure yes. Way you did it (left devices in table only and make wikilinks from it) is very good. --Jkjk 13:09, 29 December 2010 (UTC)

is there any way to make the list filterable (without downloading the openoffice version)? type of connectivity, price range, battery life, not disct'd etc. Would also like to know if i can use OSM maps on them (native or third party app, routable etc) and what format the GPS traces are in(osm supported or gpsbabel editing required). --Farrpau 16:36, 6 April 2009 (UTC)

What is the point in breaking the table into sections? It makes any sort of analysis difficult. I would like to see it as a single table which can be sorted. Would also suggest a new column - "year device released"..... will leave this a few days and if no-one objects then I will change it to a single table.....--Patndave (talk) 01:50, 31 July 2014 (UTC)
I think this is already discussed here in another paragraph ("merge split tables again"). Also for ease of use (aka reading a long list) it'll make sense to not have all columns in the same color since the column headers are not visible when you scroll... --zarl (talk) 09:09, 31 July 2014 (UTC)

Good features for GPS receivers

I'm shopping for my first GPS device. There are some features that I'm not sure about their importance.

  • High-sensitivity (WAAS) - is it worth the battery life it uses?
  • Maps - What all can the maps features do? Are they just GIFs/JPGs? Can I make my own? Do you consider them worth the cost?
  • Memory card - Will I need a memory card to fit my maps? How much space do maps take?
  • Barometric altimeter and Electronic compass - These two features together aren't worth $60 are they? Why would I need another altimeter when the GPS can already calculate this?

I'd appreciate any help. These are the models I'm looking at, by the way[2]. I like that they are mobile and use AA batteries. Jecowa 01:25, 12 March 2008 (UTC)

I have a Legend HCx and am very happy with it. See OSM Map On Garmin for details of the maps and making your own. Memory card - yes, you should get one, a 2Gb card is only about £18 (UK). Altimeter and compass are useful for serious hikers but not for OSM surveyors. GPS elevation is famously unreliable, though, so if you do want height read-outs you should get the Vista. --Richard 10:10, 12 March 2008 (UTC)

Globalsat BT-359

Mine came with an interchangeable wall charger and car charger. It was in several pieces, first there was the cable, then you could add the European plug, or the US plug or the car charger plug. I bought mine on Amazon but it shipped from a different company.

BlackBerrys

More Blackberrys are getting GPS functionality, so I searched for a free tracking software and came up with bbtracker. I'll try it with my Pearl 8100, if it works I'll add it to the list.

RoyalTek RGM-3800

Is it possible to use NiMH-cells instead of the recommended alkaline batteries with this part? -- Smial 11:26, 27 July 2008 (UTC)

Yes, it is - and it works at best. -- Smial 14:07, 4 September 2008 (UTC) (using Eneloops)
I can confirm that - I'm doing it all the time. I just added that fact to the main wiki page for the unit. You do 'only' get 9hrs loggin from the unit as opposed to the normal 12hrs though. Steve Hosgood 14:12, 8 January 2009 (UTC)

I noticed a strange problem with my RGM-3800: with USB1.1, i can only connect to the device from the pc if the rgm has a sat fix, with USB2 i get a connection without sat fix. Is that only a problem with my device or did other notice that too? Frank 14:36, 18 February 2009 (UTC)

Update: Seems to be a power problem, if i attach the RGM-3800 to a powered USB hub, i don't have those problems Frank 09:40, 19 February 2009 (UTC)

The Apple iPhone3G(S)

There are some apps. to track ways. There was an App Track'n Trail with OSM-export but since the API shanged, it doesn't work any more. OSMTrack does. Motion-X GPS lite is for free and works fine, you have to mail ways home and import the gpx. See iPhone and Making GPX Tracks for actual details. -karlos- 13:09, 22 August 2009 (UTC)

Other Garmin devices

Hello,

why aren't the 'other' Garmin devices, such as Streetpilots and Zumo's mentioned anywhere? Is this because all the Garmin units can be used for OSM?

Some questions - advanced GPS wanted

Hi,


Does anyone know if there are other GPS with a "full" alphanumeric keyboard than the MobileMapper CE and the Nokia 810 ?

I need a GPS for two different purposes.

  1. Recording point-of-interest with a description - description should be easy to enter, the points are just ment to stay in the GPS so I can find back later.
  2. Map editing, and it seems that OSM just solves that problem for me. In other words any unit where I can upload an OSM map to the Unit will doo - question just is, which one is best? I am thinking Garmin GPSMap 60Csx but it doesn't have a keyboard - and I am just so tired of the method my old Garmin eXtrex Summit use to enter letters; feels like I am back in the early 80'es programming some TI calculator.
  3. How's the GPSMap 60Csx in a forest? Assume it will be OK due to the SIRF-III chipset, but if anyone has experience here let me know

--Hans O Nymand 10:18, 26 October 2008 (UTC)

Linux Support / Problems

Are there any known problems of the devices that are known in conjunction with using linux?

--Golan Trevize 09:26, 06 March 2009 (UTC)

Tomtom other logging capacities

With the Tomtom you can log using utilities like TTTracklog on http://opentom.org

We'll try to compile Navit on the Tomtom (we need your help)

I added a mail list: http://tech.groups.yahoo.com/group/Opentom/links/

Devices capable of displaying and/or editing OSM data

I'm planning on getting a new sat nav when my TOMTOM map subscription expires and was wondering Is thier a list somewhere of satnavs / palmtops / PDAs etc.. That are capable of displaying the OSM map's either native or with 3rd party addon's and it would be even better if i can also make notes / additions / corrections with the device. --Farrpau 18:42, 11 May 2009 (UTC)

Why don't you have a look at the available software and choose which software you want to use, before you decide to buy a device. See e.g. WinPDA

--Lulu-Ann 08:29, 12 May 2009 (UTC)

Thanks for the suggestion just found this list of OSM software shall have a look through the options. --Farrpau 19:56, 13 May 2009 (UTC)

Open / Unlock an (older) GPS

Using tools like MioDesktop 3.0 I could unlock an IGN/Evadeo Primo and a VDO Dayton MS2000 Gps.

http://gpspassion.com/forumsen/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=126303

The primo has port com2/4800 and the VDO has port com1 / 9600 as setting for the GPS device.

Thanks to cemonitor.exe I found the port settings http://www.gpspassion.com/forumsen/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=17074

Once in CE, you can use lots of applications to log your trip.

I suppose NoniGPSplot will do. (you can copy it from MioPocket Programs).

Be aware of the fact you can close/damage your GPS if you do wrong ....

The trick is to replace the upgrade/update EXE on the SD card with a File Explorer EXE, and then you can look around. I do not have a solution for Navman icn600 series, and we have 2 of them here ...

GPS/Glonass/Galileo

A common misunderstanding is that GPS is the only satellite based positioning system, another is that Glonass is a system to correct GPS positions. In fact, Glonass is a different satellite-based positioning system, using Russian satellites and Doppler technology. It has other weaknesses and strengths than GPS. Another system that is in post-development/pre-launch is Galileo, which is developed and will be operated by the European Space Agency. They have a few test satellites up at the moment, and industrial operators such as Kongsberg SeaTex are developing units for the offshore and survey industry. Hand-held units are likely to be available after official launch (currently planned for 2013) Galileo (sat=nav) on Wikipedia. The correct term for which most of us call GPS is GNSS (Global Navigation Satellite Systems), GPS is only the system operated by the US Air Force. See GNSS on Wikipedia for a list of operational and planned systems. I am correcting this article so that it no longer will mention Glonass as an augmentation, but rather as an alternative GNSS. --Skippern 05:37, 3 August 2009 (UTC)

I guess you mean adding GLONASS and GALILEO columns. These seem a bit extraneous though. Take up too much extra space for the information they're adding (hardly relates to any of the compared devices). I suggest we drop those columns to save space, but maybe just rename the "Augmentation" column as "Augmentation/alternative GNSS". --Harry Wood (talk) 12:37, 23 October 2013 (UTC)

External antenna

I think we should add a symbol to connectivity, if there is a chance to plug in an external antenna. --Lulu-Ann 12:51, 22 September 2009 (UTC)

Compass

There should be a possibility to leave information about internal compass functions. --Lulu-Ann 10:50, 24 September 2009 (UTC)

GPS Data Logger for Asia

I am new here and so I do not know where to post this. I spent a lot of time searching for a Bluetooth GPS Data Logger ( within my budget). Finally when I was about to but BT-Q1300S: Qstarz BT-Q1300S, I saw in the user reviews that this one has no signal in Asia. I never new of this possibility and there is no mention about this even in the GPS Reviews here. Can anyone suggest how I can verify this aspect ( signal strength in Asia). Can any one suggest a Bluetooth GPS Data Logger for usage in Asia for less than 100$. Spk 08:01, 19 March 2010 (UTC)

Cleaning

I added the Cleaning-Label. I will continue with moving the device descriptions on the bottom of the page to separate pages (like Garmin, TomTom, Transystem, ...). The resulting table will still be very big. Should we split it based on the different types (PDA, Data Loggers, GPS Recievers, ...)? -- AndiPersti 12:56, 2 January 2011 (UTC)

I worked today on a template for the table. Please see User:AndiPersti/Labor and feel free to comment. -- AndiPersti 17:16, 3 January 2011 (UTC)
bye the way we currently working on template:gps unit to unite the list and the descriptions on the dedicated brand pages. --!i! This user is member of the wiki team of OSM 07:50, 26 November 2011 (UTC)


Here is my proposal for splitting the table: I suggest 5 main categories: Receivers/Mouses - Data Loggers - Navigators - PDAs/Smartphones - Others (Others shouldn't be necessary but I'm not sure now)

Each categorie has its own table design with the following columns:

  • Receivers: brand - name - chipset - augmentation - connectivity - dop? - battery?

I omitted channels because it's dependent from the chipset (if you know the chipset you know the number of channels). storage and capacity is per definition not available with receivers. Is dop and battery good/necessary?

  • Data Loggers: brand - name - chipset - augmentation - capacity - storage - connectivity - dop? - battery?
  • Navigators: brand - name - chipset - display (size/colour/touchscreen?) - audio/voice output - OS - memory - connectivity - tracking possible(gpx/nmea output?) - OSM maps possible - battery?

Generally I really don't know which attributes are necessary for comparing navigators (I prefer simple maps and navigate on my own :-). I've just looked at some product pages/online comparisons for inspiration. For OSM I think the two most important are tracking possibility and using of OSM maps.

  • PDA/Smartphones: brabd - name - chipset - OS - memory - battery - connectivity - tracking possible - navigation possible - routing possible - OSM maps possible
  • Others: There are currently the following devices which would fall into this category: Apple Ipod (categorized as mp3-player), Garmin Forerunner/Edge (both as "Personal Trainers"), Garmin GPSmap/Oregon 300 + Geonaute Keymaze 300 (all three as "Outdoor Mapping GPS"), Magellan Professional (as "Professional GPS"), Navilock NL-501ETTL (as "GPS reciever module") and Ricoh 500SE (as "Digital Camera"). I suppose most of them could be put into one of the 4 categories. I think the Apple Ipod should be deleted because it is dependent of an additional GPS device.

Comments? -- AndiPersti 10:53, 8 January 2011 (UTC)

Hi Andi. I haven't thought about the structure of this page much myself, but since nobody else replied to your idea...
I imagine if people had objections to your idea, it would be because you can no longer get an at-a-glance overview on a single page. This page has been very heavily linked as a sort of one-stop-shop. It's the place to go to find out about suitable GPS devices, and people have come to expect a full list on here I think.
As you've said, the first clean-up task is to move all of the more detailed information which appears at the bottom of this page, onto separate pages, linked from the table. Pages per manufacturer or per model, depending on how much info there is I suppose. Let's get that done first, so that this page contains only the big table
-- Harry Wood 13:31, 9 January 2011 (UTC)
Hi Harry, I will continue doing the first step (moving the details) and then think about the details of the second (structure). :-)
My proposal was just a first thought and invitation for discussion. And imho this discussion is necessary if we want a useful review table. The table is already split but it's not a good one. And I don't think that you get a real at-a-glance overview because you are only able to sort the subtables separately. Without the possibility to sort the whole table it's rather useless. Additionally at the end there would still be all devices on one single page, just in another (imho better) fragmentation. -- AndiPersti 19:38, 9 January 2011 (UTC)
Andi: great initiative. I like the comprehensiveness of the list, but it would be nice to have some sort of classification other than alphabetical. A useful one would be current vs. deprecated models. And I do think that DOP support is important, see also my question on help. It should be clearer whether this is DOP support in GPX output, however. -- Martijn van Exel 08:18, 25 March 2011 (UTC)

One thought i had, it would be nice if we could highlight in some way if a product is no longer manufactured, useful information for anyone trying to decide what GPS to go for. think some people have added notes to this effect. Its possible the table may be more useable if discontinued products were filtered out in some way into a seperate list of historic products, one for the bots i'd think.--Farrpau 17:30, 29 January 2011 (UTC)

Good point. Since moving the descriptions to separate pages I've come across many discontinued devices and bad links (there are also some manufacturers who don't exist any more). Right now some users have marked discontinued devices in the "price" column but I would also prefer a separate table/list. -- AndiPersti 16:18, 30 January 2011 (UTC)

I've moved finally most of the device details to their proper page. There are still 20+ devices on the main page which have rather short descriptions or are the only devices from this manufacturer. I think these don't "deserve" a proper page and therefore I suggest moving all of them to a subpage like "GPS_Reviews/Misc_Devices" and link from the table to the descriptions. There are also 3 Entries which I think we could delete:

  • 1) Acer N50: This is just an PDA without a GPS chip and needs a external GPS receiver
  • 2) HP iPAQ: same as the Acer, needs Navman 3450 iPAQ sleeve for receiving GPS signals, should we move it to the Navman page?
  • 3) O2: this is just a list of O2 PDAs -- AndiPersti 19:07, 3 March 2011 (UTC)

RTCA/DO-229C MOPS compliance

Hi,

here [3] at the very end of the page it is mentioned, when a GPS receiver is REALLY EGNOS/WAAS/etc. compliant. I would like to have that as a column in the table. Thanks.

--Lulu-Ann 15:16, 15 March 2011 (UTC)

merge split tables again

The split of tables by names is not helpful when you want to sort the table. I feel it should be re-merged. Even better: filter mechanisms, to exclude e.g. discontinued models or to select navis only. --traut 09:10, 15 September 2011 (BST)

I agree, but see that editing datas on such huge tables is a horror, if you have to edit the whole table at once. we are currently working on another solution, similar to the Software lists. A new template encapsulas all informations for a devices GPS_units/list and in a second step the templates will be moved to the brand pages and crawled to a big overview table by a bot. This will bring all benefits together (easy editing, small tables, sortable in every way,...). But you have to give us a little bit more time (I guess next month everything might be ready) --!i! This user is member of the wiki team of OSM 09:35, 17 September 2011 (BST)

GPS device question

I hope this is the right place to ask s question like this. I would like to buy a GPS logger which:

  • is compatible with the GPS logging system of OSM
  • is as accurate as possible
  • is powered by batteries or rechargeable batteries and lasts at least about 20 hours
  • has at least a USB interface
  • is expandable via SD card (if the integrated memory is not large enough)
  • can save extra points on the track by using a button (or whatever)

so that I can improve my work on OSM.org

I don't really mind the price. The device should be as small and as accurate as possible. The more accurate the device is, the larger and expensive it can be. I don't really search for a PDA but rather for a highly accurate USB stick with some kind of button on it so that you can save extra points if you want to include eg. streetsigns or highway crossings to your GPS logging. The list of possible GPS devices looks to me like a flat list of possible devices which does not tell me very much about the accuracy. I hope you can help me or tell me a place where I can get help. ty TBKMrt 21:38, 10 August 2012 (BST)

You are more likely to find a GPS with bluetooth connectivity than USB in my experience if you are looking for live access to the GPS trail. Accuracy generally isn't an issue as long as it's one of the more recent devices. It's really only the older devices that tend to have accuracy issues. Smsm1 13:27, 15 August 2012 (BST)

GPS puck/mouse

I suggest a new type "GPS puck/mouse" (with no display) be split from the current "Recreational" type. Fgnievinski (talk) 14:43, 10 December 2015 (UTC)