Wiki:User confirmation

From OpenStreetMap Wiki
(Redirected from Wiki:Autoconfirmed users)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

User confirmation is one of the measures against spam in this wiki. User accounts receive more permissions over time if they are not used for spamming or pure vandalism.

New user accounts cannot move pages, files, and categories. Additionally, they can not upload files and have to solve CAPTCHAs. Four days and a few edits after creation they are assigned autoconfirmed status.[1] This status grants those rights and disables CAPTCHAs. CAPTCHAs are not triggered when adding links to webpages listed in MediaWiki:Captcha-addurl-whitelist. As the permissions are assigned automatically by the MediaWiki software, it possible to revoke these permissions by an (automated) abuse filer only.

Sometimes, trusted users with new accounts need the autoconfirmed users' permissions. In this case, administrators and bureaucrats can assign users to the confirmed user group. It includes nearly the same set of permissions, but can be granted and revoked manually.[2] There are currently 1 users with confirmed status.

References