|Whether the establishment offers vegan products.|
|Group: food and beverages|
|Used on these elements|
|Tools for this tag|
Describes if an establishment offers vegan products. According to the Vegan Society definition of veganism, it "is a way of living which seeks to exclude, as far as is possible and practicable, all forms of exploitation of, and cruelty to, animals for food, clothing or any other purpose." In practice, this definition encompasses animal meat, seafood, dairy, eggs, honey, gelatin, leather, wool, products tested on animals and any other product which verifiably and unnecessarily had non-human animals harmed in the process.
There is a group on Telegram for coordinating efforts related to veganism:
|diet:vegan||only||All or practically all of the products the establishment offers are vegan.|
|diet:vegan||yes||The establishment usually offers some vegan products. For example conventional supermarkets which offer a permanent product line of vegan staple food fall under that category.|
|diet:vegan||no||The establishment offers no vegan products at all or very little that is basically not worth mentioning.|
By tagging diet:vegan=yes or diet:vegan=only, the tag diet:vegetarian=yes or diet:vegetarian=only, respectively, is implied — i.e., all vegan food is vegetarian by definition (but not all vegetarian food is vegan).